August College Notes


Aidan Campolettano of Hicksville, a junior in the College of Arts and Sciences, was named to the Creighton University Dean’s List for spring 2016. Full-time students who earn a 3.5 grade-point average or better on a 4.0 scale are eligible for the list at the Omaha, NE, institution.

Binghamton University has announced the Dean’s List for the spring 2016 semester. This honor recognizes students who have achieved a GPA of 3.5 or higher. Those named from Hicksville include: Stephen Baumgarten, Meghan Bell, Laura Crespo, Jake Mazzola, Aaron Pinzon, Andrew Purcell, Jaclyn Schulze, Sargunvir Sondhi and Neel Tarikeri.

The following students from Hicksville graduated from Binghamton University during the 2015-2016 academic year: Stephen Baumgarten, BA, history; Meghan Bell, BS, integrative neuroscience; Jennifer Bochicchio, BS, accounting; Jake Mazzola, BS, industrial systems engineering; Aaron Pinzon, BA, biological sciences; Neel Tarikeri, BS, cell and molecular biology; Bradley Thompson, BA, biological sciences; and Kathryn Tomitz, BA, psychology.

The University at Albany congratulates the following Hicksville students who graduated in May 2016. Yu-Jie Tsai, English; Jacklyn Poetzsch, psychology; Jordan-Anthony Channer, cum laude, business administration; Danika Strand, cum laude, accounting; Lindsey Rogers, magna cum laude, accounting.

The following Farmingdale State College students from Hicksville were named to the Dean’s List or President’s List for spring 2016. Full-time students who earn a GPA of 3.30 or better are recognized through inclusion on the Dean’s List. The President’s List recognizes full-time matriculated students who distinguish themselves by attaining an average of 3.75 or higher. Thomas Abruscati, Kanza Ahmad, Nafisa Amin, Ahmer Arshad, Zohal Azimi, Faieza Baloch, Sarah Brennan, Nicholas Calikyan, Michael Deery, Samantha Dempsey, Thomas Dzienius, Jessica Edwards, Caralyn Estivo, Ronald Faithfull, Ryan Feltkamp, Gabrielle Gitto, Mayra Guzman Carbajal, Fahad Haidri, Katherine Huezo, Ajmal Ismail, Navneet Kaur, Tyler Kelly, Tasnuba Khan, Gregory Kossman, Heather Mahn, Elizabeth Mastellone, Alexander Mc Kiel, Brian McNamara, James Normile, Paul Odulaja, Megha Patel, Maria Paulino, Tatiana Pena, Angelo Perrone, Stephanie Perrone, Ace Pineiro, Amanda Pineiro, Jorge Pinto, Mauricio Poveda, Yuvraj Punel, Katherine Read Del Rosario, Andrew Spagnuolo, Adriana Torres, Chrysoula Tsirakidis, Jeremy Velarde, Mary Jascha Villanueva and Jonathan Viruet.

The following Farmingdale State College students from Hicksville completed their degree requirements and were certified for graduation in May 2016: Alexander Mc Kiel, Amandeep Kaur, Ian Downey, Jacqueline Foran, Jessica Peniera, Katherine Read Del Rosario, Kevin Brewer, Kevin Cashman, Marlon Paz, Maryam Ansari, Regina Rello, Tatiana Pena, Taylor Savastano and Viraj Patel.

Devan Igoe and Tracy Timque of Hicksville were named to the Dean’s List for the spring 2016 semester at Quinnipiac University in Hamdean, CT. To qualify for the list, students must earn a GPA of at least 3.5.

The University of New Haven named its Dean’s List for the spring 2016 semester. Full-time undergraduate students must have a 3.5 or better cumulative GPA to be eligible. Among those named were the following from Hicksville: Victoria Evans, Henry C. Lee College of Criminal Justice and Forensic Sciences, majoring in criminal justice; and Sean Kingsepp, College of Business, majoring in economics and business management.

Fairfield University students received Dean’s List honors for the spring 2016 semester. Students must have attained a semester GPA of 3.5 or better to qualify. Named were Hicksville’s Danielle M. Carolo, Alexander Stallone and James Zisa.

The following Hicksville students were awarded scholarships at Farmingdale State College for the 2015-2016 school year: Katherine Z. Read won an Alice Pan Ting Scholarship (given to a matriculated, female immigrant student with a 3.0 minimum GPA. Preference will be given to an older working mother); Nafisa Amin and Rebecca Gomes both won an Empire State Diversity Honors Scholarship (for students from a broad range of backgrounds who will contribute to the diversity of the student body in their chosen program or school).

Eastern Connecticut State University held its 126th commencement exercises at its Willimantic campus. Anthony Lomangino of Hicksville graduated with a BA in economics.

SUNY Potsdam held its Bicentennial Commencement Ceremony in the spring. Tiffany Mascia of Hicksville graduated cum laude with a BA in psychology.

Caitlyn Garger of Hicksville earned a BSBA in business administration from Merrimack College in North Andover, MA. Charles “Charlie” D. Baker Jr., governor of Massachusetts, presented the Commencement speech.

Undergraduate and graduate students from Saint Joseph’s University in Philadelphia were inducted into the national Jesuit honor society, Alpha Sigma Nu, for the 2015-2016 academic year. Hicksville native Amy Perfetti was among those inducted. Alpha Sigma Nu honors students of Jesuit colleges and universities who distinguish themselves in scholarship, loyalty to the ideals of Jesuit education, and service to others. It is the only honor society permitted to bear the name Jesuit.

Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI) announced that Jessica Caccioppoli of Hicksville, a senior majoring in environmental engineering, has been awarded the university’s Salisbury Prize for academic excellence. It was instituted in 1871 by Stephen Salisbury, a 19th century businessman and philanthropist who was one of the founders of WPI. Salisbury established the award to recognize outstanding members of the senior class “who have faithfully, industriously, and with distinguished attainment” completed all course and project requirements for the bachelor’s degree.”

A total of 139 students received the SUNY Oneonta 2015-2016 Susan Sutton Smith Award for academic excellence. To be eligible, a student must be a freshman, sophomore or junior with a GPA of 3.9 or higher. Among those receiving the award were Hicksville’s Keley Abbriano, a junior majoring in criminal justice, and Edward Bossong, a sophomore majoring in biology.

Emely Balaguera of Hicksville, a 2016 gradute of Hicksville High School, has been awarded approximately $17,900 per year for the “Excellence in Education Scholarship” to attend Alfred State this fall. She intends to enroll in the architecture program.

Previous articleSummertime Cake Decorating Fun
Next articleRams Flapjack Fundraiser
Hicksville News has served the community of Hicksville since 1986, acting as a trusted source for local news and community events.

Leave a Reply